Why does work matter?

Work (quality) in Transition

Crises can lead to changes in the realm of work; however, it is not guaranteed that this transformation is positive from working people’s perspective. Simultaneously, stiff working structures in one area can prevent necessary changes in another, thus increasing the severity of crises.

Work is therefore fundamental for analysing and overcoming various crises. Many people have developed stronger awareness for change in the way they work due to the covid-19 pandemic.

Floating Item

Crisis of capitalism?

The Financial Crisis 2008, the Covid-19 pandemic, the consequences of the Ukraine war – economic crises regularly raise questions about how stable the established order is.

Various economic and financial crises have shaped the work landscape in recent years and decades. They often make socioeconomic deficits directly or indirectly related to work and production visible or more severe. This results in complex consequences for humans, environment, and social structures, which are closely tied to other crises.

Crisis of reproduction?

For goods and services to be produced for a market, labour power needs to be reproduced – frequently through unpaid work in household and raising children.

Especially in Global North countries, the crisis of care becomes increasingly severe. Unpaid reproductive labour supports the formal productive system of goods and services, but it is unable to carry this weight sustainably in the long run. Albeit increasing awareness of this work’s relevance, unpaid care work remains unevenly distributed, with women bearing the bulk of it – as a result, for example, women are more commonly affected by pension inequality and poverty.

Climate crisis?

The protection of humans’ material livelihoods and social debates around its structuring are immediately tied to work.

To address environmental destruction and especially climate change, the structure of work and production most likely has to be transformed drastically. Sustainable econ requires, however, not just ‘greener’ jobs in employment, but the active design of work quality as a whole to ensure that changes are feasible. Many places around the globe are already affected by crises which are made more severe by environmental and climate changes.

Crisis of democracy?

Regardless of one’s own political affiliation, the organisation of work is a core social issue. It can determine the rise and fall of systems of production and authority.

Many countries have experienced rising support for authoritarian or antidemocratic tendencies in recent years, which often refer directly or indirectly to topics surrounding work. Crises and political responses to them can disrupt social cohesion. Participation and codetermination of work are effective mechanisms to foster democracy and distribute social power more equitably.

Oliver Suchy, German Trade Union Confederation (DGB)

In Conversation

Unpaid Work

Oliver Suchy explains why the organisation of unpaid work is inherently tied to paid work:

 

Our contribution

Making lasting improvements to work quality, research, and policymaking

Many people experience a decrease in their work quality – and hence their wellbeing – through the impact of crises. They have justified concerns about how their lives could change depending on responses to these crises.

But while some aspects of work can make people vulnerable, other aspects can be a source of power, inspiration, and agency. Hence, work quality also constitutes a foundation for hope that complex crises can be overcome.

Work instead of employment

Not everyone who works receives pay. This is why we include unpaid activities such as housework or volunteering in our research.

Erfassung mehrerer Aktivitäten

Most people engage in multiple different activities each day. This is why we are looking for possibilities to capture not just one job but all work activities a person engages in.

Multidimensional model of work quality

Working conditions are not the only dimension of work that impacts wellbeing. This is why we also look at other dimensions, such as recognition.

Connecting work, research, and policymaking

Not all working people have the opportunity to make themselves heard. This is why we are creating a platform that should be useful to everyone involved.

de_DE

Warum ist Arbeit so wichtig?

Arbeit(squalität) im Wandel

Krisen können dazu führen, dass Wandel in der Arbeitswelt angestoßen wird; dass es sich dabei aus Sicht der Arbeitenden um positiven Wandel handelt, ist jedoch nicht selbstverständlich. Gleichzeitig können verfestigte Arbeitsstrukturen in einem Bereich dazu führen, dass Wandel in anderen Bereichen ausbleibt und eine Krise dadurch verschärft wird.

Arbeit ist daher fundamental für die Analyse und Bewältigung verschiedener Krisen. Viele Menschen haben im Zuge der Covid-19-Pandemie ein stärkeres Bewusstsein für Wandel in ihrer Arbeitsweise entwickelt.

Floating Item

Kapitalismuskrise?

Finanzkrise 2008, Covid-19-Pandemie, die Folgen des Ukrainekrieges - immer wieder führen Wirtschaftskrisen zu der Frage, wie stabil die bestehende Ordnung ist.

Verschiedene Wirtschafts- und Finanzkrisen haben die Arbeitslandschaft in den letzten Jahren und Jahrzehnten maßgeblich geprägt. Oft machen sie gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Missstände, die direkt oder indirekt mit Arbeits- und Produktionsverhältnissen verbunden sind, sichtbar oder verschärfen diese. So kommt es zu komplexen Auswirkungen auf Mensch, Umwelt und Gesellschaftsstrukturen, die eng mit anderen Krisen verknüpft sind.

Reproduktionskrise?

Damit Güter und Dienstleistungen für den Markt produziert werden können, muss Arbeitskraft reproduziert werden - häufig durch unbezahlte Arbeit in Haushalt und Kindererziehung.

Insbesondere in Gesellschaften des Globalen Nordens wird die Krise der Pflege- und Sorgearbeit zunehmend zum Problem. Unbezahlte Reproduktionsarbeit stützt das formale Produktionssystem von Gütern und Dienstleistungen, kann diese Last jedoch nicht langfristig und nachhaltig tragen. Trotz zunehmendem Bewusstsein für die Wichtigkeit dieser Arbeit bleibt unbezahlte Sorgearbeit weiterhin ungleich verteilt - Frauen sind daher auch häufiger von Ungleichheiten beispielsweise bei Rentenbezügen betroffen.

Klimakrise?

Der Schutz der materiellen Lebensgrundlage des Menschen und gesellschaftliche Debatten über dessen Gestaltung hängen unmittelbar mit Arbeit zusammen.

Um Umweltzerstörung und insbesondere dem Klimawandel zu begegnen, müssen Arbeits- und Produktionsstrukturen voraussichtlich drastisch verändert werden. Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften erfordert jedoch nicht nur ‚grünere‘ Erwerbsarbeitsplätze, sondern auch die Gestaltung der Qualität von Arbeit insgesamt, um sicherzugehen, dass Veränderungen gesellschaftlich mitgetragen werden und überhaupt umsetzbar sind. An vielen Orten der Welt führen die Folgen von Klima- und Umweltveränderungen bereits jetzt zur Verschärfung anderer Krisen.

Demokratiekrise?

Die Gestaltung von Arbeit ist unabhängig von der politischen Gesinnung ein gesellschaftliches Kernthema. Mit ihr stehen und fallen Produktions- und Herrschaftssysteme.

Viele Länder haben in den letzten Jahren einen Anstieg der Unterstützung autoritärer und antidemokratischer Strömungen erlebt, die sich oft direkt oder indirekt auf Themen rund um Arbeit berufen. Krisen und der politische Umgang mit ihnen können den gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt erschüttern. Mitbestimmung und Mitgestaltung von Arbeit sind effektive Mechanismen, um Demokratie zu fördern und gesellschaftliche Macht gerechter zu verteilen.

Unser Beitrag

Arbeitsqualität, Arbeitsforschung und Arbeitspolitik nachhaltig verbessern

Viele Menschen erleben durch Krisen eine Verringerung ihrer Arbeitsqualität und damit ihres Wohlergehens. Sie haben berechtigte Sorgen darum, wie sich ihr Leben durch den Umgang mit diesen Krisen verändern könnte.

Doch während einige Aspekte von Arbeit einen Menschen vulnerabel machen können, kann aus anderen Aspekten Kraft, Inspiration und Handlungsfähigkeit abgeleitet werden. Deshalb bietet Arbeitsqualität eine eine Grundlage für Hoffnung darauf, komplexe Krisen zu bewältigen.

Arbeit statt bezahlter Beschäftigung

Arbeiten tun nicht nur diejenigen, die dafür bezahlt werden. Deshalb beziehen wir unbezahlte Aktivitäten wie Hausarbeit oder Ehrenamt in unsere Forschung mit ein.

Vereinbarkeit mehrerer Aktivitäten

Die meisten Menschen gehen mehreren verschiedenen Aktivitäten nach. Deshalb suchen wir Möglichkeiten, nicht nur einen Job, sondern sämtliche Arbeiten eines Menschen zu erfassen.

Multidimensionales Modell von Arbeitsqualität

Nicht nur die Rahmenbedingungen von Arbeit spielen eine Rolle fürs Wohlergehen. Deshalb betrachten wir auch andere Dimensionen, wie beispielsweise Anerkennung.

Verbindung von Arbeit, Forschung und Politik

Nicht alle Arbeitenden haben die Möglichkeit, sich Gehör in Forschung und Politik zu verschaffen. Deshalb schaffen wir eine Plattform, die für alle Beteiligten nutzbar sein soll.

de_DEGerman